Teams, tournament format announced for WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup in Lima, Peru

The U-18 world championship in South America is set for December.

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today announced the participating teams and competition format for the upcoming WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup, which is set to be played from 6-12 December in Lima, Peru.

World No. 2 USA, No. 4 Mexico, No. 5 Puerto Rico, No. 6 Chinese Taipei, No. 10 Netherlands, No. 13 Czech Republic, No. 26 South Africa, No. 30 Peru and No. 40 Colombia will compete in the inaugural edition of the WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup.

To begin the tournament, the nine teams will face each other in a single round-robin, with the top two teams advancing to the World Championship Final, while the third- and fourth-place finishers will play in the Bronze Medal Game.

The tournament will be played at Villa Maria del Triunfo Softball Stadium, a site of the Lima 2019 Pan American Games.

The inaugural WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup had been originally set to take place in 2020. As a result of the one-year delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all players who would have been eligible to participate in the 2020 edition will still be able to play in December.

The new WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup will replace the U-19 Softball World Cup. The United States are the three-time defending U-19 Women’s Softball World Champions.

Credit: WSBC