WBSC releases Tokyo 2020 Olympic Baseball Softball Media Guide

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today released the Official Tokyo 2020 Olympic Baseball Softball Media Guide. The digital publication can be viewed as an online flipping book and/or downloaded as a PDF here.

The 81-page media guide includes key information about the upcoming Olympic baseball and softball events, including rosters, schedules, tournament formats, venues and historical results, as well as a welcome message from WBSC President Riccardo Fraccari.

“The six national softball teams and six national baseball teams that made it to Tokyo 2020 are amongst the best-ranked teams in the WBSC Baseball and Softball World Rankings, and we are expecting many more of the brilliant performances that saw these top teams qualify for the Olympic Games,” said Fraccari.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Softball event will be staged from 21-27 July, with softball’s world No. 1 USA, No. 2 Japan (defending Gold Medallists), No. 3 Canada, No. 5 Mexico, No. 8 Australia and No. 9 Italy.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Baseball event will be played from 28 July to 7 August, with baseball’s world No. 1 Japan, No. 3 Korea (defending Gold Medallists), No. 4 USA, No. 5 Mexico, No. 7 Dominican Republic and No. 24 Israel.

Olympic Baseball and Softball openers will be held at Fukushima Azuma Baseball Stadium, while Yokohama Stadium will serve as the main venue.

The Australia-Japan Olympic softball game in Fukushima at 9:00 a.m. JST on 21 July will serve as the first official competition of the Tokyo 2020 Games.

Baseball and softball are making their return to the Olympics for the first time since the Beijing 2008 Games.

# # #

Contact: media@wbsc.org