The  WBSC-Softball Asia Umpires Certification Course Seminar and  WBSC-Softball Asia Scorers Certification Course Seminar is being held from Dec 11-17 in conjunction of the 3rd Asian Universities Women Softball Asia 2022,  which starts tomorrow.

Umpires course

A total of 33 umpires are attending the course conducted by Wiremu Tamaki (New Zealand), Paulo Tabirara (Philippines) and Rosli Ismail (Malaysia), while 14 are attending the Scorers course conducted by Tan Chia Mien (Singapore). Online sessions with WBSC instructors were also conducted.

Scorers course participants inGroup discussions

While their theory ended today, the umpires and scorers, will have their practical practice during the  3rd Asian Universities Women Softball Asia 2022,  during the four-day tournament which starts tomorrow and end on Sunday.

Umpires coure conducters Rosli Ismail and Wireemu Tamaki 

A total of eight countries – Chinese Taipei, Malaysia, Hong Kong, host Thailand in Group A and Japan, Singapore, India and Korea in Group B -will be competing.

Scorers course conducter Tan Chia Mein conducting her seminar

The top 3 teams from each Group after the Opening Single-round robin competition will qualify to play in the Super Round. The fourth ranked team from each Group will play each other in the Placement Round.

Scorers course

Results from the Opening Round between the 3 teams that advance to the Super round from each Group will carry over and count to determine the 4 teams that will qualify to play in the Final round (Gold and Bronze medal game). The same methodology (of carry over results) applies to the Placement Round.

The top 2 teams after the Super Round will play for the Gold medal, and the 3rd and 4thranked teams after the Super Round will play for the Bronze medal.

China was the champion of the last edition held in Nanjing, China in 2018, but they are not competing this year.

Chinese Taipei was the runner-up in 2018 when they lost 0-1 to China. Third placed were Japan and fourth placed, Malaysia.

The other teams who competed were Singapore, Hong Kong, India and Iraq who finished in that order.