The 3rd Asian Universities Women Softball Asia Cup 2022 is all set to pitch off this morning at the Rugby International schools grounds in Pattaya, Thailand, after a fruitful team managers meeting last night to iron out any last minute details which needed clarification.

Team managers meeting

The meeting chaired by Softball Asia president, Datuk Low Beng Choo, who is also the secretary-general, saw her thank the host Softball Association of Thailand (SAT) president Art Phainpaniporn and his local organising committee for an excellent job in putting this tournament together.

“In these difficult times, especially with us still undergoing the Covid-19 endemic, SAT under the leadership of Art, have gone out of their way to organise this tournament with excellent facilities and hospitality.

“I also thank all the participating universities team from their respective nations, to have travelled here to make this tournament happen.

“This Universities tournament is a special tournament because it for special group of universities  students to keep them in the game and compete at the Asian level. This will ensure that they will continue with the game and go on to represent their senior national team. 

A total eight countries – Chinese Taipei, Malaysia, Hong Kong, host Thailand in Group A and Japan, Singapore, India and Korea in Group B -are competing in the four-day tournament.

With defending champions, China, not competing, the field is now open for challenge, although all eyes on the 2nd edition’s runner-up, Chinese Taipei.

But a clearer indication of the favourite teams will surface tomorrow after the first day’s eight scheduled games.

It is difficult to predict the strength of the teams at this Universities championship, because the teams change for every tournament, as students graduate and leave, and fresh ones make the team every two years.

But an exciting championship is on the cards, as a majority of the powerhouses in the game in Asia, are represented.

All matches will be live streamed on the WBSC online platform.

Wednesday’s fixtures:

8.30am: Chinese Taipei v Malaysia

8.30am: Hong Kong v Thailand

10.30am: Japan v Singapore

10.30am: India v Korea

12.30pm: Chinese Taipei v Hong Kong

12.30pm: Malaysia v Thailand

2.30pm: Japan v India

2.30pm: Singapore v Korea