Softball Asia are conducting a World Baseball Softball  Confederation (WBSC) umpire certification seminar, as a prelude to their Women’s Softball Asia Cup 2023 starting tomorrow, in Incheon, South Korea.

Tournament poster

The seminar began on Thursday (March 30) and end on April 8th – the last day of the competition. The first three days is the theory course, followed by the practical during the competition.

Course conductor from WBSC Mark Porteous observing a candidate answering a theory question to the class

The seminar is conducted by WBSC’s Mark Porteous, a Softball International Umpire who officiated at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games softball competition and was recently awarded with the New Zealand 2020 Softballer of the Year award, Softball New Zealand’s top recognition. He was also named Umpire of the Year.

Mark Porteous explaining a situation at the course

Porteous, had an incredible year last year that culminated with his selection to the Tokyo Olympic Games, having umpired the 2019 WBSC Men’s Softball World Cup final in the Czech Republic, the 2019 WBSC Asia/Oceania Olympic Qualifier in China, and the 2020 WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup final in New Zealand, and is considered one of the best softball umpires in the world.

China’s Wu Ying Bing answering a question on a game situation as part of his theory course

Porteous is assisted by Softball Asia conductors, Paulo Tabirara from Philippines and Rosli Ismail from Malaysia.

Best Western Harborpark Hotel where the umpires course is held in Incheon, South Korea

A total of 21 umpires, including four women umpires from China, Hong Kong, Korea and Singapore are attending the seminar.

The participants at the course

The umpires will be doing their practical umpiring in the Women’s Softball Asia Cup 2023 starting tomorrow at the LNG Sports Town, where nine countries will be participating teams for the continental title and three available tickets to the XVII WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup next July in Europe.

WBSC-SA Umpires certification course conductors – from left Mark Porteous, Paulo Tabirara and Rosli Ismail

The nine participating team for the Asian title are World No. 2 Japan; No. 3 Chinese Taipei; No. 13 China; No. 30 Philippines; No. 35 Korea; No. 38 Hong Kong China; No. 42 Singapore; No. 46 Thailand and No. 53 India.

Tournament poster


Cai Xie Qing, Xie Tao Rui, Xiao Xing, Meng Chi, Li Yun Xiao, Xu Yang, Wu Ying Bin (All from China); Au-Yeung Wai Hung (Hongkong); Cho Heeyoung, Eom Taegoo, Kim Hyungsuk, Lee Jongsoo, Nam Yoonsung, Oh Pilkyu, Fi Chunghee, Kim Sungbae, Park Gidong, Kim Tae Sub, Jeon EunHye, Song Kwang Moo (all Korea); Ahmad Masran Hassan (Singapore).